Previous Top Next
Explore functions

Background

When manually handling trip files it's possible to create inconsistencies between the .System\Trips folder and the Explore.db in the .System\SQlite folder. Especially for the XT2, XT3 and Tread 2 models this can lead to problems. E.G. Trips can reappear after having been deleted.
The XT does not store the trips in Explore.db, even when connected to Garmin Explore, and does not exhibit this behaviour.

TripManager can perform checks, and repair some inconsistencies.

The trips for the XT2, XT3 and Tread 2 have an item 'mExploreUuid' that contains a GUID. For newly created trips TripManager creates a new GUID.
graphic

In Explore.db trips are also stored with 'type=4', their UUID and Name. (and more)

graphic

Ideally trips with the same trip name should have the same UUID in Explore.db and in the Trips folder.



Advice
To prevent inconsistencies when using TripManager in conjunction with Explore it is recommended to delete trips on the device, and not from the Trips folder.
A known cause of errors: A route initially send using the normal 'Garmin' procedure, will be stored as '1234567890.trip'. If you send the same route again using TripManager it will be stored using the <route_name>.trip.  This will lead to duplicates. In this case delete the trip from the device first, to avoid inconsistencies.



What is enabled?

1) Creating trips
With this setting enabled TripManager will check if a UUID is found for the trip name in Explore.db when transferring. If found TripManager will use the UUID and filename to save the trip on the device. To avoid having multiple UUID's for a trip name.
It also enables TripManager to read the VehicleProfileHash from the Explore.db to avoid problems with vehicle profiles.

2) Trip info tab

The Trip info tab, that normally shows info on a selected trip/gpi file, will now have the button Explore info enabled. Activating that button will show a treeview with all Waypoints, Routes and Tracks found in Explore.db. Optionally grouped by collections.

graphic
Selecting an item will load detailed info in the grid, and show it on the map.
The functions of the context menu (Right click in the grid) are available. EG: Save GPX, Add to Map

graphic

A selected route can be loaded in the TripEditor, with all functions available.
graphic



3) Device menu functions
When a model that uses Explore.db is connected AND the trips tab is selected, 3 more functions are enabled.
graphic


Query/Explore.db
Will open a table in the table-browser. Just for quickly checking. You can enter any SQL statement.


Compare Explore.db with Trips
Will run a compare, and show the results in a tab.

graphic


There are 5 possible groups. Note that you can double click to collapse or expand a group.
·   In Explore, not in Trips. These trips are not correct, but TripManager can not fix that. To fix that the Explore.db would have to be written and updated on the device. To resolve delete the trips on the device, or in Explore/Tread app.
·   In Trips and Explore, but duplicate TripName. The same UUID is found for multiple Trip names. Delete the duplicates manually.
·   In Explore and Trips, but different UUID. Clicking on Correct UUID will write the UUID value from Explore in the trips. (no recalculation needed)
·   In Trips, not in Explore. Probably these are new trips that have just been transferred. Rebooting the device should fix it.
·   In Explore, in Trips, Same Uuid. These are the perfect trips.

Export Explore.db to GPX
Exports the contents of the Explore.db to GPX format. Use this function to backup the contents of the Explore.db. The created GPX can be imported in BaseCamp/Mapsource.

Notes
·   A <cmt> node containing the UUID will be added to every item. This is a unique identifier and added for debugging only.

·   Waypoints
Will only contain the coordinates and the name.  EG: No Icon or Address info.

·   Tracks
For the XT only the coordinates are available. EG: No date/time info


·   Routes
The XT will normally not save routes in Explore.db.
The export only contains the route points. When imported in BaseCamp, or other route planner, the route will need to be recalculated.



Activating the functions

Starting with TripManager V1.9 these functions are enabled by default. Disabling can be done in Settings. (Restart TripManager after changing this setting to take effect)
graphic

With the setting enabled TripManger will copy the Explore.db file .System\Sqlite to a sub folder (Device) of the Temp path, when connecting a unit. All reads are done on that Temp path. TripManager will NOT update the Explore.db on your device.